Our Vision

A prosperous people's life.

Our Mission

Providing sustainable development to the people of Mahawa in effective and efficient management of human and physical alms in accordance with state policies.

History of Maho Divisional Secretariat

Mahawa Divisional Secretariat is bordered to the Wayamba District of the Colombo District in the North Western Province. This division is spread over 248.6 sq. Km and is situated to the right side of the Deduru Oya. This boundary is bounded to the Ambanpola Divisional Secretariat Division North and bounded to the Divisional Secretariat of Polpitigama East and to the Nikaweratiya Divisional Secretariat Division West. This area belongs to the Dry zone consists of a majority of people who have been living in agriculture. In addition to this, in addition to paddy cultivation, chena farming is also seen. It is cultivated under small and large irrigation irrigation schemes, while large extent of land is cultivated under minor irrigation systems. The majority of rural tanks are visible. Deduru Oya project also has a lot of land.

The Mahawa DS Division consists of 68 Grama Niladhari Divisions and 218 villages. The total number of families in the division is 20,166. The total population is 65,308. To meet the market needs of the people, they meet to the capital, Mahawa. The expressway running to Jaffna and Batticaloa is located in the center of this city. The Yapahuwa Kingdom and the Deduru Oya reservoir are located in the division which is a major attraction for tourists.

Role performed at DS

No. Name From To Designation
01 Mr. S. Hulangamuwa 1943 1954 Regional Revenue Administrator
02 Mr. W. Aluwihare 1954 1958 Regional Revenue Administrator
03 Mr. Uduwela 1958 1963 Regional Revenue Administrator
04 Mr. Wimalarathne Kumaragama 1963 1964 Regional Revenue Administrator
05 Mr. Wimaladarama Ekanayake 1964 1965 Regional Revenue Administrator
06 Mr. Kapilarathne Suriyagoda 1965 1966 Regional Revenue Administrator
07 Mr. P.B. Wanninayake 1966 1970 Regional Revenue Administrator
08 Mr. M.S. de Silva 1970 1971 Regional Revenue Administrator
09 Mr. Mayurapala Balalla 1971 1972 Regional Revenue Administrator
10 Mr. S. Algama 1972 1977 Assistant Government Agent
11 Mr. E.A.M. Karunanayake 1977 1987 Assistant Government Agent
12 Mr. M.M.P. Hitisekara 1987 1991 Assistant Government Agent
13 Mr. A.D.Wimal Perera 1991 1994 Divisional Secretary
14 Mr. M.R. Sirilal 1994 1996 Divisional Secretary
15 Mr. E.M.D.B. Ekanayake 1996 1998 Divisional Secretary
16 Mr. R.M.P.Bandara Rajapaksha 1998 2000 Divisional Secretary
17 Mr. M.M.K.M. Bandara 2000 2002 Divisional Secretary
18 Mr. W.A. Jayawardane 2002 2005 Divisional Secretary
19 Mr. A.M. Somathilake 2005 2006 Divisional Secretary
20 Mr. R.M. Wanninayake 2006 2014 Divisional Secretary
21 Mr. H.M.J.M. Herath 2014 2018 Divisional Secretary
22 Mrs. W. Warnakulasuriya 2019   Divisional Secretary

News & Events

Commemoration of the Poson Festival - 2019

Commemoration of the Poson Festival - 2019

Commemoration of the Poson Festival - 2019Based...

Scroll To Top